Because more equal societies work better for everyone

Blogs

Friday, 27 May, 2016
As we head towards the EU referendum we know that, whatever the result, inequality and poverty will remain the defining issues of our time. The ...
Tuesday, 17 May, 2016
New figures released by the Office for National Statistics yesterday heralded the good news that the UK has one of the lowest rates of persistent...
Friday, 13 May, 2016
We are pleased to present here new and exclusive footage from experts and prominent public figures talking about inequality. We hope...
Tuesday, 3 May, 2016
Although the new Work and Pensions Secretary has stopped cuts to disability benefits he seems to be in lock-step with his predecessor in worrying...
Friday, 29 April, 2016
The Institute for Government, Institute for Fiscal Studies (IFS) and Chartered Institute of Taxation have recently begun a new project to improve the...
Wednesday, 13 April, 2016
Despite the verbal war against inequality, Britain is heading towards a society ever more divided between extreme affluence and mass impoverishment....
Tuesday, 12 April, 2016
When The Spirit Level was launched in 2009 people understandably focused on the unprecedented amount of data and graphs that demonstrated how more...
Tuesday, 5 April, 2016
Yesterday’s Panama Papers leak exposed the huge scale of tax avoidance and evasion among the world’s rich and powerful. It is a timely reminder of...
Friday, 1 April, 2016
Single parents receiving Universal Credit and working for the minimum wage will be worse off even after receiving the new, higher minimum wage today...
Tuesday, 22 March, 2016
It is very welcome news that the Government appears to be stopping, or at least reining back, the cuts to disabled people and the wider...

Pages

Join Our Mailing List