Because more equal societies work better for everyone

Blogs

Friday, 17 January, 2014
One of the major difficulties in tackling inequality is the way it coerces many people into accepting and even promoting it. In a steep social...
Thursday, 16 January, 2014
Today the British Academy have published a new report suggesting nine ways that local authorities could reduce health inequalities. In this...
Monday, 13 January, 2014
Many people think that taxes on what we buy are fairer than those on what we earn. Focus groups have suggested that because we choose what...
Wednesday, 8 January, 2014
This morning the Electoral commission released a report recommending that voters be required to present ID before they are allowed to vote...
Thursday, 19 December, 2013
Last week Policy Exchange published a report setting out the dearth of those from ‘intermediate’ and ‘routine and manual’ occupations among...
Wednesday, 18 December, 2013
Christmas may be increasingly commercial and expensive but it doesn’t have to be.  We’ve put together a few ideas of presents that promote...
Monday, 16 December, 2013
Over the weekend Nadhim Zahawi, a Conservative MP, floated the idea that child related benefits should be given for only the first two...
Tuesday, 10 December, 2013
The release of the latest Estate Gazette’s Rich List makes for sobering reading. While living standards for the majority fall, last year...
Wednesday, 4 December, 2013
Tomorrow George Osborne will give his Autumn Statement. The temptation will be to boast of a growing economy, and a vindication of his programme of...
Friday, 29 November, 2013
As intended, Boris Johnson’s ideological celebration of inequality has got lots of people talking, some of them with more expertise than others....

Pages

Join Our Mailing List